Thursday, 6 September 2012

The class of 2012 graduation

Graduation September 2012 has been a great celebration of achievement. Graduates have had the chance to publicly mark their success in the splendid surroundings of Wolverhampton's Grand Theatre. During the ceremony, the University has awarded David Watkins, Designer of the London 2012 Olympic medals an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Design in recognition of his significant local and international contribution in the field of design. 

The ceremony was addressed by the Vice Chancellor, Professor Geoff Layer, who began his address by discussing the power higher education has to transform peoples lives. His speech also went on to mark the heritage of the University, from its early roots in 1851, as the School of Art to the institutions proud status today, as the University of Wolverhampton. 

“We are proud to have developed as an educational institution, ensuring our graduates are ready to succeed in the global economy” 
The images featured here show just a glimpse of the event and the prize giving reception. Student awards were presented by Professor Dew Harrison.

Many congratulations must go to all graduates.

Daler Rowney Prize for Excellence in Graphic Communication
Daniel Dean

The Dean’s Prize for Excellence in Visual Communications
Alex Steer

The RotoVision Award for Excellence in Editorial Graphic Communication
Hannah Foy

The RotoVision Award for Excellence in Visualising
Brad Ankers

The Sheaffer Prize for Use of Language in Graphic Projects
Katie Howell

The Sheaffer Prize for Outstanding Work on Live Commissions in Graphic Communications
Jordan Jones

No comments:

Post a Comment