Friday, 2 September 2011

Graduation Celebration

What a day to remember! 

Visual Communication Staff were delighted and proud to see graduates and have the opportunity to catch up and mark student success. The day has been all about achievement and celebration. 

The formal ceremony, held within Wolverhampton's Grand Theatre, provided an opportunity for Professor Geoff Layer to be introduced to graduates. Professor Layer congratulated students on their creative achievements in art and design and went on to talk about the University's commitment to excellence in education with a focus on equipping students for the world of work. 

"At Wolverhampton we remain committed to equipping students with the skills and knowledge to help them succeed in a competitive jobs market. With a strong focus on employability our curriculum provides opportunities for work placements, volunteering and relevant skills for the workplace... A university qualification enables you to stand out among the crowd and Wolverhampton graduates enter a diverse range of fields all over the world"

During the ceremony, the University took great pride in presenting an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Design to Dave McKean, for his award winning illustration and design work. Dave McKean pictured here with Lester Meachem, Divisional Leader Visual Communication 

After degree presentations Dr Bryony Conwy, the Dean of the School of Art and Design, spoke about some of the notable achievements of the year, her comments included praise for a number of Visual Communication graduates and alumni, including Adam and Nick Hayes, Matt Zarandi, Kate Farrell and Lisa Barrett.

After the ceremony celebrants spilled out of the theatre and had the chance to catch up with friends and colleagues. 

At the end of the afternoon, the prize giving ceremony took place in the School of Art and Design. With many visual communication graduates receiving awards. These included:

The Creativity Artists Papers Excellence in Illustration Award 
given to Mark Porter 

The Canon Illustration Prize 
to Ariadni-Foteini Mitreli-Masmanidi

The Express and Star Award for Digital Editorial Design 
presented to Kate Farrell 

The RotoVision Award for Excellence in Branding 
presented to Lisa Barrett

The RotoVision award for Excellence in Packaging
presented to Deepak Garcha 

The Sheaffer Prize for Outstanding Work on Live Commissions in Graphic Communication
awarded to Gemma Oldfield 

The Sheaffer Prize for Use of Language in Graphic Projects 
given to Anne-Marie Miles 

Deepak Garcha and Anne-Marie Miles with Barbara George and Jasmine Jones from Sheaffer 

Some of the staffs photographs of the day are featured here, including a number of the award presentations. 

No comments:

Post a Comment